Overview
WFNS reference centre (since 2002) training young African neurosurgeons under the same conditions as Moroccan residents, leading to a national specialisation diploma (exam route) or a specialisation certificate.
The programme
- Focus
- General Neurosurgery
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- Full training 5 years; short-term training 6 months to 1 year
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- WFNS Foundation reference centre; Mohammed V University
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- MD or equivalent; citizen of a country with fewer than 1 neurosurgeon per million inhabitants; commitment to return home; recommendation from home-country university authorities (Head of Department, Dean or hospital Director).
- International applicants
- Yes — designed for African neurosurgeons from under-served countries
- Visa support
- Hassan II Foundation provides financial support for visa issuance
- Licence requirement
- Not stated on official page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Send application about one year before intended start
- Application method
- Mail/email fellowship application, recommendation letter(s), CV, medical diploma and photo to the Head of Department of Neurosurgery, CHU Rabat
Funding
- Funding
- WFNS Foundation fellowship of US$4,200 per year per trainee (via Hassan II Foundation), plus support for congress attendance, visa issuance and sickness