Overview
Founded in 1985 and one of the oldest in the U.S., this 12-month ACGME fellowship offers more than 7,000 blocks a year at the main campus with formal didactics, conferences and research (an MGB Integrated regional fellowship is recruiting for 2028–2029).
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- ACGME-accredited
- Department
- Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Not stated on official page
- International applicants
- Institution policyYes - IMGs need a standard ECFMG certificate for J-1 clinical sponsorship, completed base residency training and a Statement of Need from their home country
- Visa support
- Institution sponsors H-1B and J-1 visas
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyMassachusetts limited licence (for trainees in ACGME programmes or fellowships at facilities hosting ACGME programmes; requires USMLE Steps 1-2 or MCCQE) or full Massachusetts licence; application initiated via the training facility
How to apply
- Deadline
- Completed applications by March 4, 2026 (2027–2028 cycle)
- Application method
- SF Match with three letters of recommendation
Funding
- Funding
- PGY-5 starting salary $102,466 (2026) with health, dental and disability benefits
Official sources
https://research.massgeneralbrigham.org/en/education-and-training/graduate-medical-education/anesthesia/regional-anesthesiology-and-acute-pain-medicine-fellowshiphttps://www.massgeneralbrigham.org/en/about/for-employees/global-professionals-scholars/visas/j1-clinical-visahttps://www.mass.gov/info-details/physician-licensing-fees-and-eligibility-requirements