Overview
Two-year University of Toronto Occupational Medicine fellowship for internationally sponsored physicians with prior Family Medicine, Public Health & Preventive Medicine, or Internal Medicine certification. Official page confirms one annual position, September application window and July start the following year.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical fellowship
- Specialty associations
- Not yet verified
- Learning format
- Two-year clinical fellowship aligned with the residency curriculum, including a Master's programme component
- Duration
- 2 years
- Start
- 1 July of the year after application
- Positions
- 1 position per year
- Accreditation
- Not stated on the official page
- Department
- Department of Medicine, Division of Occupational Medicine
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Applicants from outside Canada and the US with recognised MD certification in Family Medicine, Public Health and Preventive Medicine, or Internal Medicine; excellent English; confirmed funding from home government or institution
- Qualification requirement
- Applicants from outside Canada and the US with recognised MD certification in Family Medicine, Public Health and Preventive Medicine, or Internal Medicine; excellent English; confirmed funding from home government or institution
- Citizenship requirement
- Not stated on the official page
- Practice location requirement
- Not yet verified
- Membership requirement
- Not yet verified
- Eligibility restrictions
- Not yet verified
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Teaching language
- Not stated on the official page
- Clinical language
- Not stated on the official page
- International applicants
- Yes — pathway described for applicants outside Canada and the US with sponsor funding; fellowship does not confer a Canadian practice licence
- Licence requirement
- Not stated on the official page
- Visa route
- Trainees need both a work permit and a separate study permit for the Master's component
- Visa sponsorship
- Not stated on the official page
- Visa support
- Trainees need both a work permit and a separate study permit for the Master's component
How to apply
- Deadline
- Applications open 1 September and close 30 September; interviews October–November
- Application method
- Email CV, cover letter, three reference letters (one from former residency/fellowship programme director) and proof of English proficiency to occmed.prg@utoronto.ca between 1–30 September
- Documents
- CV, cover letter, three reference letters, proof of English proficiency; Master's programme English/transcript requirements also apply
- Contact
- Elizabeth Cho, Program Coordinator — occmed.prg@utoronto.ca; Program Director Dr Vincent Spilchuk
Funding and costs
- Tuition / fees
- Not stated on the official page
- Application fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Stipend / salary
- Not stated on the official page
- Scholarship
- Not stated on the official page
- Funding
- Confirmed funding from home government or institution required; Master's tuition is an additional sponsor cost not included in the base training fee
Intakes
- Current cycle: recorded unverified on 2026-10-12.
Sources and verification
https://deptmedicine.utoronto.ca/occupational-medicine-0https://www.dlsph.utoronto.ca/program/residency-program-in-occupational-medicine/
Evidence by field
- Duration: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Eligibility: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Learning format: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Application method: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Deadline: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Start: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Positions: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- International applicants: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Contact: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Funding: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Documents: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Visa support: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Qualification requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Tuition / fees: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Stipend / salary: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Visa sponsorship: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Licence requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Citizenship requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Accreditation: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Clinical language: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Teaching language: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Language: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Training type: not stated; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Visa route: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1 Derived from Visa support.