Specialist Training in Hand Surgery (Swiss federal title, national pathway)

SIWF / ISFM (Swiss Institute for Medical Education)

Plastic SurgeryHand & peripheral nerveSpecialist training programme
Destination
CHE
Bern, Switzerland

Overview

National SIWF programme for the separate federal specialist title in Hand Surgery, starting with a surgical base year(s) followed by 4-5 years of hand surgery at recognised sites.

The programme

Focus
Hand Surgery
Training type
Specialist training programme
Duration
6 years: 1-2 years basic surgical training plus 4-5 years hand surgery
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
Federal specialist title (eidg. Facharzttitel) awarded by SIWF; programme accredited by the Federal Department of Home Affairs on 12 August 2025 (programme of 1 July 2024).
Department
Not stated on official page

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Medical graduates.
International applicants
Foreign training creditable under Art. 33 WBO; at least 2 years of specialty-specific clinical training must be done at recognised Swiss hand-surgery sites.
Visa support
Not stated on official page
Licence requirement
Admission to the specialist examination requires a Swiss federal or recognised foreign medical diploma (Art. 23 WBO).

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Apply individually for resident (Assistenzarzt) posts at SIWF-recognised training sites (searchable in the SIWF register, www.siwf-register.ch); the title is then applied for through SIWF once all requirements, including the specialist exam, are met.

Funding

Funding
Not stated on official page

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at SIWF / ISFM (Swiss Institute for Medical Education)