Overview
National SIWF programme for the federal specialist title in Prevention and Public Health. Requires a Master of Public Health (60 ECTS) plus two years of practical public-health work and two years of clinical activity.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 5 years: 3 years specialty-specific (1 year theoretical MPH-level training of 60 ECTS + 2 years practical public-health training) and 2 years clinical activity
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Federal specialist title (eidg. Facharzttitel) awarded by SIWF; programme accredited by the Federal Department of Home Affairs on 12 August 2025 (programme of 1 July 2001, last revised 3 July 2024).
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Medical graduates; MPH from a recognised programme (list in Annex 2 of the programme).
- International applicants
- Foreign training creditable under Art. 33 WBO; at least 2 years of specialty-specific training must be done at recognised Swiss training sites or study programmes.
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Admission to the specialist examination requires a Swiss federal or recognised foreign medical diploma (Art. 23 WBO).
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Apply individually for resident (Assistenzarzt) posts at SIWF-recognised training sites (searchable in the SIWF register, www.siwf-register.ch); the title is then applied for through SIWF once all requirements, including the specialist exam, are met.
Funding
- Funding
- Not stated on official page