Overview
National SIWF programme for the federal specialist title in Surgery (Chirurgie), including 6 months in a surgical/interdisciplinary emergency department; Visceral Surgery, Surgical Senology and other Schwerpunkte build on it.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 6 years: 45-69 months clinical surgery (incl. 6 months emergency department), 3-6 months anaesthesia and/or intensive care, up to 24 months options
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Federal specialist title (eidg. Facharzttitel) awarded by SIWF; programme accredited by the Federal Department of Home Affairs on 12 August 2025 (programme of 1 July 2022, last revised 23 January 2025).
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Medical graduates.
- International applicants
- Foreign training creditable under Art. 33 WBO; at least 2 years of clinical training must be done at Swiss category A or B surgery sites.
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Admission to the specialist examination requires a Swiss federal or recognised foreign medical diploma (Art. 23 WBO).
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Apply individually for resident (Assistenzarzt) posts at SIWF-recognised training sites (searchable in the SIWF register, www.siwf-register.ch); the title is then applied for through SIWF once all requirements, including the specialist exam, are met.
Funding
- Funding
- Not stated on official page