Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship (Vancouver and Victoria)

University of British Columbia (St. Paul's Hospital, Vancouver General Hospital and Royal Jubilee Hospital, Victoria)

CardiologyElectrophysiology & devicesClinical Fellowship
Destination
CAN
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Overview

A two-year academic EP fellowship at two high-volume sites (~1,000 and ~850 EP procedures per year) covering complex ablation, devices, leadless pacing, S-ICD and laser lead extraction.

The programme

Focus
Electrophysiology
Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
2 years
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
Leads to Royal College Diploma in Cardiac Electrophysiology
Department
UBC Division of Cardiology

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Institution policyMust have completed all time and examination requirements to be registered as a specialist in home country (or RCPSC specialist requirements), with letter from home specialty college
International applicants
Institution policy (UBC PGME): international doctors may train as Postgraduate Fellows if they have completed all specialist training/exams in their home country (letter from home specialty college required), meet CPSBC English requirements and have a written Training Agreement; government-sponsored visa trainees apply via agencies with a UBC agreement
Visa support
Institution policy (UBC PGME): foreign trainees must hold an IRCC work permit for the whole training period; the sponsoring department/PGME submits an offer of employment to IRCC and the fellow applies under the LMIA-exempt category
Licence requirement
College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia registration (not detailed on page)

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Contact Dr Andrew Krahn (akrahn@mail.ubc.ca) for Vancouver or fellows@catrials.org for Victoria

Funding

Funding
Institution policy (UBC PGME): fellows are not covered by the Resident Doctors of BC agreement; a written Training Agreement with the sponsoring Health Authority/University sets pay; $500 PGME administrative fee plus annual CPSBC licence fee; self-funded or unfunded postgraduate trainees are not eligible

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at University of British Columbia