Overview
Two-year Royal College-accredited thoracic surgery residency, typically after general or cardiac surgery residency, with at least 18 months on the thoracic service plus a mandatory cardiac surgery rotation.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 2 years
- Start
- July 1 (2026 position offered in the 2025 match)
- Positions
- One resident every two years
- Accreditation
- Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Typically completion of residency in general surgery or cardiac surgery
- International applicants
- Not stated on official page
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Not stated on official page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Per CaRMS Medicine Subspecialty Match timeline
- Application method
- CaRMS Medicine Subspecialty Match
Funding
- Funding
- Not stated on official page