Overview
One-year dermatopathology fellowship with separate tracks for dermatology- and pathology-trained fellows, each spending 50% of time in dermatopathology, preparing them for board certification.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- 2028–2029 fellowship year (current recruitment)
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Department of Pathology / Dermatopathology
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- All fellows must be eligible for a Pennsylvania Medical Trainee License
- International applicants
- Institution policyIMGs from non-LCME schools must hold ECFMG certification before entry; non-US citizens need employer-sponsored visa (J-1/H-1B per programme)
- Visa support
- Institution policyUPMC ME programmes may (not required to) offer J-1 via ECFMG and/or H-1B; programme can offer either or both; H-1B requires USMLE Steps 1-3 passed by match date
- Licence requirement
- Pennsylvania Medical Trainee Licence eligibility
How to apply
- Deadline
- No closing date stated; applications accepted from March each year (currently for the 2028–2029 year); interviews typically December/January
- Application method
- Online application with CV, personal statement, USMLE scores and three letters; applications from March, interviews December–January
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policySalaried on UPMC ME GMT stipend scale AY 2026-27: PGY4 $78,677; PGY5 $81,431; PGY6 $84,281; PGY7 $87,231; PGY8 $90,284 (AY 2027-28: PGY4 $81,818; PGY5 $85,091; PGY6 $88,495)