Overview
A one-year AUPO FCC-approved programme preparing fellows to be the best glaucoma specialists, whether entering academic or private practice.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- AUPO FCC-approved
- Department
- Cole Eye Institute
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Institution policyLCME/AOA graduates or IMGs with valid ECFMG certificate; ACGME fellows must have completed specialty prerequisite training (exceptional-candidate route where the RC allows)
- International applicants
- Institution policyIMGs eligible with a current valid ECFMG certificate; Cleveland Clinic holds ACGME Non-Standard Training recognition so approved non-accredited fellowships can take ECFMG J-1 trainees
- Visa support
- Institution policyH-1B (requires USMLE Steps 1-3 passed; Step 3 results by 30 April for NRMP programmes) and J-1 (ECFMG); O-1 for fellows case by case; no permanent-residence sponsorship for trainees
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyPermanent or training medical licence/certificate from the state board where training (State Medical Board of Ohio training certificate for Ohio; Florida Board of Medicine for Florida) required before starting; some advanced/non-accredited fellowships require a permanent licence
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Not stated on official page
Funding
- Funding
- Paid at PGY-5 level; health, vision and dental benefits; disability and life insurance; medical licence fees paid; 15 vacation days
Official sources
https://my.clevelandclinic.org/departments/eye/medical-professionals/fellowships/glaucomahttps://my.clevelandclinic.org/-/scassets/files/org/graduate-medical-education/visa-info-2025.pdf?la=enhttps://my.clevelandclinic.org/-/scassets/files/org/graduate-medical-education/graduate-physicians-manual-2026.pdf?la=en