Overview
HPB surgery fellowship covering pancreatic, liver and complex biliary surgery within a multidisciplinary team, with two protected research months per year.
The programme
- Focus
- Hepatopancreatobiliary (HPB) surgery
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- Not stated on official page
- Start
- Institution policyStanford GME contracts are issued per academic year (1 July - 30 June); standard start late June/1 July
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Fellowship Council and AHPBA
- Department
- Department of Surgery, Division of General Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Passed USMLE/COMLEX Steps 1–3; at least 1 year prior ACGME (or Canadian equivalent) training; ABS or Canadian board eligible/certified
- International applicants
- Foreign medical graduates accepted if ECFMG-certified; non-US citizens eligible for a J-1 visa accepted
- Visa support
- J-1 visa
- Licence requirement
- Unrestricted California licence before starting
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Fellowship Council
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyPaid on Stanford Health Care housestaff scale 2026-27: PGY4 $113,276.80, PGY5 $119,558.40, PGY6 $124,280.00, PGY7 $130,540.80 (base includes housing allowance)