Overview
Nationally recruited Group 1 rheumatology training; all trainees undertake a four-year programme dual-accrediting with general internal medicine. The specialty is not participating in Round 2 of 2026 recruitment.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 4 years (dual accreditation with GIM)
- Start
- Early August (Round 1) or early February (Round 2) post start dates
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- GMC-approved programme leading to CCT (or CESR-CP); curriculum by JRCPTB
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Group 1 specialty: completion of the Internal Medicine Training (IMT) stage 1 programme or equivalent; does not accept alternative training routes.
- International applicants
- Not stated on official page
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- GMC registration with a licence to practise
How to apply
- Deadline
- Per the national PHST recruitment round timetable (applications via Oriel)
- Application method
- National recruitment through the Oriel system; shortlisting by self-assessment scoring and interview.
Funding
- Funding
- Salaried NHS specialty registrar posts