Overview
A 12-month fellowship based in Freeman Hospital's cardiothoracic theatres and cardiac intensive care unit, tailored for clinicians in cardiothoracic anaesthesia, general anaesthesia or critical care.
The programme
- Focus
- Adult cardiothoracic anaesthesia
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia and Cardiac Intensive Care
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- GMC-recognised primary medical qualification; board certification/eligibility or completed residency; 3–5 years' specialty experience; IELTS 7.5 overall (7.0 each) or OET B; working towards FFICM/FRCA/MRCP or similar
- International applicants
- Yes — international clinical fellowship requiring support of an overseas employer, government or recognised sponsoring body
- Visa support
- Royal College sponsorship for GMC registration and Tier 5 Government Authorised Exchange visa
- Licence requirement
- Full GMC registration (or eligible within 3 months)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Apply via Newcastle Hospitals Commercial Services with CV, valid IELTS/OET and sponsor funding letter; interview
Funding
- Funding
- Sponsored: fee of £45,000 per fellowship paid by overseas sponsor (honorary contract)
Official sources
https://commercial.newcastle-hospitals.nhs.uk/work-with-us/training-and-experiene/international-clinical-fellowships/honorary-fellow-in-cardiothoracic-anaesthesia-and-intensive-care/https://commercial.newcastle-hospitals.nhs.uk/work-with-us/training-and-experiene/international-clinical-fellowships/admission-criteria-and-application-process/