Overview
National basic-specialty (基本領域) training pathway in Neurosurgery under the Japanese Medical Specialty Board (JMSB) system; accredited programmes follow the society's programme standards (研修プログラム整備基準) linked from the JMSB trainee page.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- Multi-year; set by the society's programme standards (see official document)
- Start
- April (annual JMSB trainee recruitment cycle)
- Positions
- Annual quotas allocated per programme by JMSB
- Accreditation
- Japanese Medical Specialty Board (日本専門医機構)
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Doctors who have completed Japan's two-year initial clinical training and register as specialty trainees (専攻医) through JMSB
- International applicants
- Open only to doctors holding a Japanese medical licence
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Japanese medical licence required
How to apply
- Deadline
- Set annually by JMSB (trainee registration/application window published on the JMSB trainee page)
- Application method
- Trainee registration and programme application via the JMSB 専攻医登録 system
Funding
- Funding
- Not stated on official page