Overview
Two-year foundation programme in pathology (approved May 2018) covering surgical pathology, autopsy, basic cytopathology and molecular pathology; trainees complete the remainder of the ≥5-year specialist training abroad.
The programme
- Focus
- Histopathology / general pathology
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 2 years in Iceland (full certification ≥5 years, partly abroad)
- Start
- Early March or end of June
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Approved by the Evaluation and Credentials Committee (May 2018); Regulation No. 467/2015
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed a specialist education programme (foundation) or equivalent approved by the teaching council; general medical licence in Iceland; some candidates need Icelandic at B2 level or higher
- International applicants
- Possible for doctors holding an Icelandic general medical licence
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- General medical licence in Iceland
How to apply
- Deadline
- Posts advertised twice a year (January and September)
- Application method
- Apply to advertised Landspítali specialist training posts
Funding
- Funding
- Salaried training post