Overview
Workplace-based training programme of 42 months FTE across Stages A-C in accredited OEM positions in Australia and New Zealand, leading to Fellowship of AFOEM (FAFOEM); a new curriculum applies to trainees starting from 2026.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 3.5 years (42 months FTE); maximum 10 years
- Start
- 1 January or 1 July
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- RACP / AFOEM (FAFOEM)
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- General medical registration in Australia or NZ; 2 years postgraduate clinical experience; applied for/completed relevant postgraduate diploma; accredited OEM position of at least 20 hours/week; approved Educational Supervisor
- International applicants
- Requires Australian or NZ medical registration; see RACP Overseas specialists page
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- General registration with the Medical Board of Australia or general-scope registration with the Medical Council of New Zealand
How to apply
- Deadline
- Admission to Training applications 31 March (1 July start) and 30 September (1 January start)
- Application method
- Training Management Platform (TMP); College does not recruit or select trainees - trainees must secure accredited positions
Funding
- Funding
- Standard annual RACP fees apply