Overview
Ocular oncology research fellowship for trained ophthalmologists, distinct from the two-year clinical track. The official page conflicts on research duration: one year in its introduction and two years in the research section.
The programme
- Training type
- Research fellowship
- Specialty associations
- Not yet verified
- Learning format
- Independent clinical research, data analysis, publications, education and presentations
- Duration
- Conflicting official page: 1 year in the introduction; 2 years in the post-residency research fellowship section; confirm with the programme
- Start
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Positions
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Accreditation
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Department
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed ophthalmology residency, at least three years; international applicants must have completed residency in their home country and have an interest in ocular oncology
- Qualification requirement
- Completed ophthalmology residency of at least three years
- Citizenship requirement
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Practice location requirement
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Membership requirement
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Eligibility restrictions
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Language
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Teaching language
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Clinical language
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- International applicants
- Conditional — trained international ophthalmologists are considered for the research fellowship; the programme specifies a J-1 visa
- Licence requirement
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Visa route
- J-1 visa stated for international research fellows; sponsorship arrangements are not stated
- Visa sponsorship
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Visa support
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Application method
- Contact the fellowship office for the current research application process; the medical-student summer application is a different programme
- Documents
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Contact
- sandra@shields.md; +1 215-928-1140
Funding and costs
- Tuition / fees
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Application fee
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Stipend / salary
- No programme funds for individual fellow support; external grants are commonly obtained, without a guaranteed award
- Scholarship
- Not stated on the checked official programme source
- Funding
- No programme funds for individual fellow support; most fellows obtain grants from their institutions or countries
Intakes
- Intake: recorded unpublished on 2026-10-11.
Sources and verification
Evidence by field
- Specialty: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Subspecialty: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Department: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- State or region: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Training type: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Duration: conflicting sources; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Start: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Deadline: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Eligibility: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- International applicants: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Accreditation: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Application method: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Positions: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Funding: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Visa support: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Licence requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Language: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Learning format: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Tuition / fees: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Visa sponsorship: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Documents: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Contact: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Citizenship requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Qualification requirement: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Practice location requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Membership requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Eligibility restrictions: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Clinical language: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Teaching language: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Application fee: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Stipend / salary: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Scholarship: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1
- Visa route: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1