Overview
Advanced clinical and research training in adult ocular oncology and retinoblastoma for trained ophthalmologists. The official page accepts applications for 2027–2028.
The programme
- Focus
- Ocular oncology
- Training type
- Clinical fellowship
- Specialty associations
- Not yet verified
- Learning format
- Clinical and research training in adult ocular oncology and retinoblastoma
- Duration
- 2 years; a one-year fellowship may be considered
- Start
- 2027–2028 academic year; precise start date not stated
- Positions
- 1 fellow per year; not a current vacancy count
- Accreditation
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Department
- Not yet verified
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Foreign equivalent qualifications may be considered; ECFMG, visa eligibility and New York limited permit requirements apply. The source still mentions discontinued Step 2 CS; confirm current examination requirements.
- Qualification requirement
- Fully trained ophthalmologists, with board eligibility or equivalent stated. Source inconsistently calls prerequisite ophthalmology training an accredited general surgery programme; confirm exact prior-training criteria with MSK.
- Citizenship requirement
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Practice location requirement
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Membership requirement
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Eligibility restrictions
- Source includes inconsistent prerequisite wording and obsolete Step 2 CS instructions; USMLE discontinued Step 2 CS in 2021
- Language
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Teaching language
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Clinical language
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- International applicants
- Foreign medical-school graduates with equivalent qualifications may apply, subject to ECFMG certification, visa eligibility and limited permit
- Licence requirement
- New York State limited permit as specified by programme; confirm current requirements
- Visa route
- Must be eligible for the appropriate visa; visa category not specified
- Visa sponsorship
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Visa support
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Accepting 2027–2028 applications; closing date not published
- Application method
- MSK graduate staff application through Surgical Education Office; confirm current requirements
- Documents
- Graduate staff application; CV; personal statement including career and return-home plans; three recommendations including department chair; medical diploma with English translation; ECFMG certificate for foreign graduates
- Contact
- Surgical Education Office, +1 212-639-7537; programme director Jasmine Francis
Funding and costs
- Tuition / fees
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Application fee
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Stipend / salary
- Salary based on postgraduate training level; amount not stated
- Scholarship
- Not stated on the checked official programme page
- Funding
- Salary and benefits based on training level; trainees normally reside in MSK housing unless programme director grants a waiver
Intakes
- 2027–2028: recorded open on 2026-10-11.
Sources and verification
https://www.mskcc.org/hcp-education-training/fellowships/ophthalmic-oncology-fellowshiphttps://www.usmle.org/work-relaunch-usmle-step-2-cs-discontinued
Evidence by field
- Duration: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Start: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Deadline: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Eligibility: conflicting sources; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- International applicants: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Accreditation: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Application method: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Positions: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Funding: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Visa support: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Licence requirement: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Language: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Learning format: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Tuition / fees: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Visa sponsorship: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Documents: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Contact: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Citizenship requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Qualification requirement: conflicting sources; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Practice location requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Membership requirement: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Eligibility restrictions: conflicting sources; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Clinical language: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Teaching language: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Application fee: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Stipend / salary: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Scholarship: not stated; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Visa route: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Specialty: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Subspecialty: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Training type: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- Last verified: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2
- State or region: confirmed; checked 2026-10-11. Source 1 Source 2