Overview
Preparation for an academic career in ophthalmic pathology covering surgical and autopsy pathology, cytology, electron microscopy and molecular techniques.
The programme
- Focus
- Ophthalmic pathology
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1, 2 or 3 years depending on background
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Department of Ophthalmology
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Not stated on official page
- International applicants
- Not stated on official page
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyCalifornia medical licence (Medical Board of California) required per the UCLA 2026-27 house staff agreement
How to apply
- Deadline
- Materials postmarked by 1 February of the start year
- Application method
- UCLA ophthalmology fellowship application mailed to the Pathology Fellowship Coordinator (not SF Match)
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyUCLA GME salary scale effective 9/1/2026: PGY-4 $108,102; PGY-5 $111,894; PGY-6 $115,477; PGY-7 $118,801
Official sources
https://www.uclahealth.org/departments/eye/training-and-education/training-programs/ophthalmology-fellowship-training-programshttps://medschool.ucla.edu/education/medical-residencies-fellowships/incoming-residents/medical-resident-salary-benefitshttps://medschool.ucla.edu/education/medical-residencies-fellowships/incoming-residents/2026-2027-sample-agreement