Overview
RACS-accredited post-fellowship programme of at least 24 months' clinical HPB training with research, case load, assessment and a final exam, delivered in accredited hospital units.
The programme
- Focus
- Hepatopancreatobiliary (HPB) surgery
- Training type
- Post-Fellowship Training Program
- Duration
- Minimum 24 months
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- RACS-accredited PFET
- Department
- AANZHPBA Training Committee
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- FRACS (or passed FRACS exam in April of the application year)
- International applicants
- Not eligible — must be a citizen or permanent resident of Australia or New Zealand
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Regulatory requirement: registration with the Medical Board of Australia (Ahpra); overseas-trained specialists/advanced trainees typically use the Short-term training in a medical specialty pathway (up to 24 months, assessed by the relevant specialist college)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Applications closed 3 March 2026 (2027 intake)
- Application method
- Online application to AANZHPBA ($450 fee); Zoom interviews
Funding
- Funding
- Annual training fee $4,125 from 2027 intake