Associate Fellow of Industrial Health (AFIH) — Competency-Based PG Certificate Course in Industrial Health

Directorate General Factory Advice Service & Labour Institutes (DGFASLI/DGOSH), Ministry of Labour & Employment — Central Labour Institute, Mumbai

Occupational MedicineIndustrialPostgraduate degree programme
Destination
IND
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

Overview

Three-month full-time, offline postgraduate certificate course that trains MBBS doctors as occupational health physicians/Factory Medical Officers, covering industrial medicine, industrial hygiene, safety, toxicology and labour law, with laboratory work, industry visits and a project. It is run at the Central Labour Institute, Mumbai and Regional Labour Institutes (Chennai, Kolkata, Kanpur and others) and is a statutory qualification under the Factories Act, 1948.

The programme

Focus
Industrial / occupational health
Training type
Postgraduate degree programme
Duration
3 months full-time
Start
June 2026 batch ran 01.06.2026-31.08.2026; a November batch was also run in 2025
Positions
Merit list for ranks 1-50 per institute (intake capacity of 50 stated for several institutes)
Accreditation
Recognised by DGFASLI (Ministry of Labour & Employment, Government of India); qualification under the Factories Act, 1948; AFIH registration renewable every 5 years via CPD
Department
Not stated on official page

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
MBBS recognised under the NMC Act 2019/IMC Act 1956; completed one-year internship; permanent/renewed registration with NMC/State Medical Council; minimum two years' work experience (hospital or industry) after internship (recognised PG study counts)
International applicants
Not stated on official page
Visa support
Not stated on official page
Licence requirement
Permanent/renewed NMC or State Medical Council registration

How to apply

Deadline
June 2026 batch: applications by 30.04.2026 (registered/speed post to the chosen institute); next batch dates not yet stated
Application method
Prescribed application form with documents by speed/registered post to one institute; point-based merit list if applications exceed intake

Funding

Funding
Course fee Rs 30,000 plus Rs 5,000 examination/registration fee; no stipend

Official sources

More at Great Ormond Street Hospital