Overview
Two-year vitreoretinal surgery fellowship that has trained over 100 surgeons in a collaborative tertiary-care environment.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 2 years
- Start
- Institution policyDuke GME appointments run 1 July - 30 June, with a few exceptions
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Registered with AUPO fellowship compliance programme
- Department
- Department of Ophthalmology
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Institution policyLCME/AOA-accredited MD/DO graduates, or international graduates with a valid ECFMG certificate or full unrestricted US licence; NC full licence or RTL, I-9 employment eligibility, background and NPDB checks
- International applicants
- IMGs who do not qualify for a full North Carolina medical licence cannot be offered positions
- Visa support
- No - Duke does not provide immigration sponsorship for fellows / clinical associates
- Licence requirement
- Full North Carolina medical licensure required (training licence not accepted)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- SF Match CAS plus USMLE scores and 3 letters of reference; interviews in the fall
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyGME trainees paid on the Duke stipend scale; FY27 (from 1 July 2026) PGY-1 $71,052 rising to PGY-4 $79,908, PGY-5 $82,992, PGY-6 $86,292, PGY-7 $90,036 (up to PGY-12 $106,800), plus benefits
Official sources
https://dukeeyecenter.duke.edu/education-and-training/fellowship-programs/vitreoretinal-surgery-fellowship-programhttps://gme.duke.edu/training-programs/applicants/employment-requirementshttps://gme.duke.edu/training-programs/applicants/stipends/physician-trainee-stipendshttps://medicine.bulletins.duke.edu/about/graduate