Overview
Sri Lanka's national specialist training programme in anaesthesiology, entered through the PGIM MD (Anaesthesiology) selection examination (Applied Physiology, Pharmacology and Physics with MCQ, OSCE and OSVE components). Board Certification requires post-MD training of at least one year locally and one year overseas.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- MD training per the Anaesthesiology Prospectus 2022, plus at least 2 years post-MD training (1 local, 1 overseas) for Board Certification
- Start
- Selection examination commenced 3 August 2026 (2026 cycle)
- Positions
- Determined by the number of candidates above the cut-off line
- Accreditation
- Board Certification by the PGIM, University of Colombo.
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Medical degree registered with the Sri Lanka Medical Council; internship acceptable to the SLMC; one year of post-internship clinical practice in Sri Lanka; medical fitness certificate; ALS certification by the College of Anaesthesiologists and Intensivists of Sri Lanka.
- International applicants
- Not stated on official page
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Medical degree registered with the Sri Lanka Medical Council.
How to apply
- Deadline
- Applications closed 13 July 2026 (2026 selection examination)
- Application method
- Apply to sit the PGIM Selection Examination in MD (Anaesthesiology); candidates above the cut-off are enrolled in order of merit by sector.
Funding
- Funding
- Examination fees (state sector): registration Rs 17,500, examination Rs 80,000, application Rs 8,500; non-state sector candidates pay 50% more.