Overview
Three-year full-time English-taught programme training dentists to specialist level in endodontology, including surgical endodontics and a publishable research project; graduates qualify for ESE specialist membership and NVvE recognition as endodontist.
The programme
- Training type
- Postgraduate degree programme
- Duration
- 3 years full-time
- Start
- Academic year 2027-2028 (September intake)
- Positions
- 1-4 students per graduation profile per year
- Accreditation
- Joint MSc in Oral Health Sciences (UvA & VU); graduates eligible for European Society of Endodontology specialist membership and recognised as 'tandarts-endodontoloog' by the Dutch Society of Endodontology (NVvE)
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Master's degree in dentistry recognised under Dutch law; at least 1 year of work experience in general dental practice after graduation; CV, motivation letter, 2+ recommendation letters, hepatitis B, resuscitation and radiation-protection certificates; the Endodontology profile asks for at least three years of clinical experience as a general dental practitioner
- International applicants
- Taught in English (30-50% international students), but patient communication is in Dutch: English C1 (e.g. IELTS 6.5) and Dutch B2/C1 required. Non-EU dental degree holders may apply only if they already hold Dutch BIG registration
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Dutch BIG registration required to work at ACTA during the programme (not required at application)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Applications for 2027-2028 open 1 October 2026 and close 1 February 2027; interviews end of January/February, outcome around end of February
- Application method
- Online application to ACTA (Oral Health Sciences); recommendation letters sent directly to the profile director
Funding
- Funding
- Self-funded; course fee 2027-2028 EUR 24,158 per year; ACTA offers no scholarships or loans