Overview
Three-year full-time (270-credit) modular programme in the Postgraduate Orthodontic Unit covering contemporary clinical and theoretical orthodontics with a research thesis; approved by the Irish Committee for Specialist Training in Dentistry.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 3 years full-time (36 months, 270 credits)
- Start
- October 2027
- Positions
- Maximum of four students per intake on a three-year cycle
- Accreditation
- Approved by the Irish Committee for Specialist Training in Dentistry; Doctorate awarded by the National University of Ireland
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- EU applicants: primary honours dental degree (NFQ Level 8) registrable with the Dental Council of Ireland, minimum two years' postgraduate experience in a range of clinical and educational settings, and MFDS/MFD or equivalent
- International applicants
- Non-EU applicants accepted: primary dental degree, two years' postgraduate experience, MFDS/MFD or equivalent and UCC English language requirements
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Not stated on official page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Closing date to be confirmed for 2027 (course page indicates March/April 2027)
- Application method
- Online via https://www.ucc.ie/en/apply/ (informal enquiries to Professor Declan Millett)
Funding
- Funding
- Unsalaried; students pay full programme fees including bench fees