Overview
Hospital-based residency in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery training general dentists across four hospitals (including Harborview, Seattle Children's and VA Puget Sound), the dental school clinic and the Center for Pediatric Dentistry.
The programme
- Focus
- General practice residency / advanced general dentistry
- Training type
- Clinical fellowship
- Duration
- 12-month accredited first year, with optional accredited second year (PGY2)
- Start
- 1 July
- Positions
- 8 first-year positions per year; 2 PGY2 positions (one a Special Care Dentistry track)
- Accreditation
- ADA-accredited (per programme page); sponsored by UW Graduate Medical Education
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- DDS/DMD from a US or Canadian accredited dental school
- International applicants
- Must be a US or Canadian citizen or US permanent resident
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Must be eligible for a Washington State Dentist Resident Limited License before the 1 July start
How to apply
- Deadline
- 1 September (PGY1, via PASS); PGY2 deadline 28 February 2027
- Application method
- ADEA PASS (program code GPR 686); PGY2 by supplemental application direct to the programme
Funding
- Funding
- 2026–27 stipend: R1 $87,708/year; R2 $88,836/year; terms under the UW collective bargaining agreement