Overview
Specialist clinical MDent qualification in maxillo-facial and oral surgery requiring coursework, practical training as a registrar and research, leading to specialist registration in South Africa.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 3 or 4 years full-time depending on clinical discipline
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Registered as a dentist with the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA) and holding a Wits BDS/BDentSc (or Senate-accepted equivalent) for at least two years; holder of a registrar or supernumerary registrar training post at the Wits Dental Hospital; probation of up to one year
- International applicants
- Yes — foreign graduates may train as supernumerary registrars with limited HPCSA registration
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- HPCSA registration as a dentist (limited registration for foreign supernumerary registrars)
How to apply
- Deadline
- 30 September (annual closing date)
- Application method
- Online application via the Wits Student Enrolment Centre (SEnC); assessed by the School; course coordinator Ms Sandra Benn
Funding
- Funding
- Wits postgraduate tuition fees apply; postgraduate merit awards and NRF bursaries listed