Overview
Pain training addresses acute, chronic and cancer pain using medical management, neural blockade and advanced interventions.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Academic year begins in July
- Positions
- 2 per year
- Accreditation
- ACGME
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Not stated on official page
- International applicants
- Institution policyGraduates of non-US medical schools eligible if ECFMG-certified before appointment (applicants still obtaining certification may interview but cannot be ranked or appointed) or holding a full unrestricted licence in the programme state; Canadian graduates after 1 July 2025 also need ECFMG certification
- Visa support
- J-1 via ECFMG sponsorship; Mayo Clinic may also sponsor H-1B if all eligibility requirements are met
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyArizona trainees must hold a full Arizona medical licence (if eligible: 12 months ACGME training for US/Canadian grads, 36 months for IMGs, USMLE 1-3) or an Arizona postgraduate training permit before day one; Mayo pays/reimburses
How to apply
- Deadline
- 31 March of the year preceding the programme start
- Application method
- ERAS and NRMP Match (NRMP code 3200530F0)
Funding
- Funding
- Paid; Mayo Clinic GME stipend by graduate level (effective 11 March 2026: e.g. Graduate Level 5 $89,036/yr); benefits include 20 working days' vacation
Official sources
https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/anesthesiology/https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/pain-medicine-fellowship-arizona/https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/pain-medicine-fellowship-arizona/application-process/https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/admissions-and-benefits/https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/orientation/arizona/licensure/
Application details on the programme's application-process subpage.