Overview
PHM fellowship running since 2010 (ACGME-accredited 2020) in a hospital medicine division of over 35 faculty, partnering with Intermountain Healthcare.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 2 years
- Start
- Institution policyUniversity of Utah GME academic year begins 1 July (2026-27 year began 1 July 2026)
- Positions
- 2–3 per year
- Accreditation
- ACGME-accredited (2020)
- Department
- Division of Pediatric Hospital Medicine
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Not stated on official page
- International applicants
- Institution policyIMGs may apply on the same basis as US/Canadian graduates but need ECFMG certification; non-US citizens/non-permanent residents need an institutionally sponsored visa
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 clinical visa (ECFMG-sponsored) for non-US-citizen trainees providing patient care; H-1 visas not accepted for residencies or fellowships (GME IMG eligibility policy)
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyPGY2+ trainees must have passed USMLE Step 3 and be eligible for a Utah medical licence by the contracted hire date
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- ERAS; all positions filled through NRMP (applications open 1 July; Match Day 2 December)
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyPaid on University of Utah GME 2026-27 stipend schedule: level 4 $83,912, 5 $86,920, 6 $91,863, 7 $94,407, 8 $99,790
Official sources
https://medicine.utah.edu/pediatrics/hospital-medicine/fellowshiphttps://medicine.utah.edu/sites/g/files/zrelqx296/files/media/documents/2026/fy27-trainee-stipend-memo.pdfhttps://medicine.utah.edu/pediatrics/hospital-medicine/fellowship/applicationhttps://medicine.utah.edu/gme/trainee-resources/prospectivehttps://medicine.utah.edu/neurosurgery/residency/policies/international_eligibility