Overview
A 3-year decentralised specialist training programme in plastic surgery delivered in COSECSA-accredited hospitals under accredited trainers across member countries, leading to the FCS (ECSA) qualification by common examination.
The programme
- Focus
- Plastic surgery (general)
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 3 years
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- COSECSA FCS (ECSA) qualification; accredited plastic surgery training sites listed by COSECSA (e.g., ALERT Hospital, AIC Kijabe, QECH Malawi, CHUK Rwanda, Muhimbili, Mulago, CoRSU, UTH Lusaka, Parirenyatwa).
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- MCS passed not more than 3 years before applying, or MMed (Surgery) holders as per programme regulations; contact the country's COSECSA Country Representative before applying; certified medical degree and registration certificate required.
- International applicants
- Regional programme for trainees in COSECSA member countries; applicants training away from their home country must secure a training post and any work permit themselves (Smile Train scholarship terms).
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Medical registration certificate required.
How to apply
- Deadline
- 31 December each year (FCS online application deadline)
- Application method
- Online application via COSECSA; non-refundable programme entry fee payable on approval (applications@cosecsa.org).
Funding
- Funding
- Programme entry fee (USD 600 for FCS per prospectus wording). COSECSA–Smile Train scholarships (4 in the 2025 cycle) have covered fees and a USD 12,000 annual living stipend.