Overview
National specialist qualification in plastic surgery examined in three stages (Primary, Intermediate, Final); the Final requires 36 months in a numbered registrar training post and submission of a portfolio.
The programme
- Focus
- Plastic surgery (general)
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- Final requires 36 months in a numbered registrar post (plus at least 12 months approved surgical training before the Intermediate)
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Examination qualification of the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa.
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Primary: post-internship qualification registered with the HPCSA or another medical council. Intermediate: Primary passed plus ≥12 months approved surgical training (≥6 months general surgery, ≥3 months ICU, ≥3 months trauma/emergency). Final: 36 months in a numbered registrar post and portfolio.
- International applicants
- Primary open to holders of post-internship registration with the HPCSA or any other medical council.
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- HPCSA (or other medical council) registration.
How to apply
- Deadline
- Per CMSA examination calendar
- Application method
- Apply to CMSA for each examination sitting.
Funding
- Funding
- Examination fees: Primary R12,950; Intermediate R17,350; Final R24,650 (per CMSA page).