Overview
University eye hospital offering a structured three-year residency rotating through all ophthalmic subspecialties, with European Board of Ophthalmology certification and funded course/congress attendance. Residents must complete at least one supervised research project per year.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 3 years (category A1); a further year must be completed at another training site for the Swiss title
- Start
- November 2027 intake for the current call
- Positions
- 22 FTE resident (médecin assistant) posts
- Accreditation
- SIWF/ISFM Ophthalmologie A1 (3 years), Ophthalmochirurgie A2 (2 years); EBO certification
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Swiss medical diploma or equivalent; non-francophone candidates need at least B2 French; research activity valued
- International applicants
- EU/EFTA diplomas require MEBEKO equivalence; diplomas from third countries are not recognised (per FAQ)
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- EU/EFTA diploma recognition by MEBEKO required; third-country diplomas not recognised
How to apply
- Deadline
- Applications 1 June – 1 September 2026 (closed for the 2027 intake)
- Application method
- Online application via the hospital's recruitment (rh@fa2.ch) during the annual window
Funding
- Funding
- Salaried posts; course/congress attendance funded; hospital offers no bursaries (scholarship-funded candidates of at least one year preferred, others considered case by case)