Overview
SIWF-recognised category A1 training site for the Swiss specialist title in ophthalmology, with rotations through all subspecialty units of the tertiary USZ eye clinic; exchange-year residents and research/dissertation work are supported. The clinic is also accredited by the European Board of Ophthalmology.
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- Category A1: up to 3 years recognised for ophthalmology
- Start
- Rolling; staggered start dates roughly every 2–3 months throughout the year
- Positions
- Up to 23 FTE training positions (1 reserved for neuro-ophthalmology)
- Accreditation
- SIWF/ISFM Ophthalmologie category A1 (3 years); European Board of Ophthalmology accredited
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Physicians pursuing the Swiss specialist title in ophthalmology; residents on an exchange year also accepted
- International applicants
- Not stated on official page
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Swiss federal medical diploma or MEBEKO-recognised foreign diploma and cantonal registration required for clinical employment (general Swiss requirement; not detailed on the page)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Rolling; interviews held continuously through the year
- Application method
- Application to the USZ Augenklinik directorate (direktion.aug@usz.ch); standardised structured interviews
Funding
- Funding
- Not stated on official page