Overview
OCME describes its programme as the nation's largest forensic pathology fellowship, having trained over 100 board-certified forensic pathologists since 1990. Fellows may continue into a second-year ACGME-accredited forensic neuropathology and cardiovascular pathology fellowship.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical fellowship
- Duration
- Not stated on official page
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 4-6 forensic pathology positions per year, plus 2 forensic neuropathology/cardiovascular pathology positions.
- Accreditation
- Second-year forensic neuropathology/cardiovascular pathology fellowship stated as ACGME-accredited; accreditation of the core forensic pathology year not stated on the page.
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- MD or DO from an accredited medical school and completion of an ACGME-accredited AP or AP/CP residency by the start of fellowship.
- International applicants
- Not stated on official page
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Not stated on official page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- ERAS application with participation in the NRMP Match; audition rotation no longer required (elective rotations encouraged). Contact: FellowshipPrograms@ocme.nyc.gov.
Funding
- Funding
- Fellows are City of New York employees appointed as City Medical Examiner-I; 2026 annual salary stated as $191k with pension, 401(k)/457(b), medical and dental benefits.