Overview
Named Edinburgh / Scottish National Complex Aortic fellowship based at the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh within the nationally designated thoraco-abdominal and complex aortic service. Combines NHS Lothian fellowship identity with advertised Senior Aortic Fellow posts for post-CCT/international advanced aortic training.
The programme
- Focus
- Complex open and endovascular aortic surgery (TAAA, arch, FEVAR/BEVAR/TEVAR)
- Training type
- Clinical fellowship
- Specialty associations
- Not yet verified
- Learning format
- Advanced clinical fellowship in a nationally designated complex aortic centre: open and endovascular thoracoabdominal/arch work, TEVAR/FEVAR/BEVAR, hybrid strategies, national aortic MDT, elective and emergency vascular service support
- Duration
- 12 months
- Start
- August 2026 (named Senior Aortic Fellow / National Complex Aortic Fellowship advertisement)
- Positions
- 1 (12-month fixed-term Senior Aortic Fellow post as advertised)
- Accreditation
- Not stated on the official page
- Department
- Scottish National Thoraco-Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm and Complex Aortic Service / Department of Vascular Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Suited to post-CCT vascular surgeons or international candidates seeking advanced complex aortic experience (as stated on Senior Aortic Fellow / National Complex Aortic Fellowship advertisements)
- Qualification requirement
- Post-CCT vascular surgery or equivalent international training suitable for advanced complex aortic fellowship (as advertised)
- Citizenship requirement
- Not stated on the official page
- Practice location requirement
- Not yet verified
- Membership requirement
- Not yet verified
- Eligibility restrictions
- Not yet verified
- Language
- Not stated on the official page
- Teaching language
- Not stated on the official page
- Clinical language
- Not stated on the official page
- International applicants
- Yes – advertisements welcome international candidates seeking advanced complex aortic experience
- Licence requirement
- GMC registration with licence to practise required for clinical appointment (NHS Scotland post)
- Visa route
- Not stated on the official page
- Visa sponsorship
- Not stated on the official page
- Visa support
- Not stated on the official page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Advertised closing dates vary by vacancy notice — confirm on current NHS Scotland vacancy notice
- Application method
- Online NHS Scotland application for Senior Aortic Fellow / National Complex Aortic Fellowship (CV-only applications not accepted); informal contacts via NHS Lothian vascular service
- Documents
- CV (named in recorded application instructions; confirm full checklist)
- Contact
- Scottish National Thoraco-Abdominal Aortic Service, Department of Vascular Surgery, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh, 51 Little France Crescent, Edinburgh
Funding and costs
- Tuition / fees
- Not stated on the official page
- Application fee
- Not stated on the official page
- Stipend / salary
- NHS Scotland ST3+/fellow scale as advertised for the post
- Scholarship
- Not stated on the official page
- Funding
- Salaried NHS fixed-term clinical fellow post (as advertised)
Sources and verification
https://services.nhslothian.scot/vascular/scottish-national-thoraco-abdominal-aortic-aneurysm-and-complex-aortic-service/https://services.nhslothian.scot/vasculardev/scottish-national-thoraco-abdominal-aortic-aneurysm-and-complex-aortic-service/for-professionals/training-education/edinburgh-aortic-fellowship/
Evidence by field
- Duration: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Subspecialty: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Department: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Learning format: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Summary: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Training type: confirmed; checked 2026-10-12. Source 1
- Documents: legacy record not reverified; checked not recorded. Source 1 Source 2 Derived from Application method.